“The Best of the Best” Awards are the first distinctive sign in the professional development of NATFA’s graduates. For the last 16 years, these awards have been announced and presented at the official annual graduation ceremony – on May 24th. All graduates from the respective graduating classes compete for these awards. Nominations for the “The Best of the Best” Awards are determined by a referendum with secret ballot by all members of the Faculty of Stage Arts – lecturers and students – totally over 350 people.

The winners of the “The Best of the Best” Awards are determined by a federal voting principle, by BONZA – the Board for determining the awards for the Academy’s graduates in 11 categories: the best actor and actress in the fields of drama, puppetry and movement theater; the best director of drama and puppet theatre; the best designer in stage and screen design; the best theatre scholar; the best drama theatre and puppet theatre productions.

The winning productions in the last categories have the opportunity to perform for a year in front of an audience.

The author and creator of the statuettes “The Best of the Best” is Prof. Bogomil Nikolov Dimitrov – a lecturer in the Department of Metal at the National Academy of Arts.

Read more about “The Best of the Best” Awards here.