Doctor Honoris Causa (“Doctor of Merit”, or “Honorary Doctor”) is a title, awarded for merits to the development of the world science, education and culture. The honorary scientific degree, awarded by the Rector of the Academy, has a symbolic value.

Among the Doctor Honoris Causa or “Doctor of Merit” of NATFA are: Cicely Berry, 1997 (Chief Director of the Royal Shakespeare Theater, UK), Nikita Mikhalkov, 2003 (film director, Russia), Kristine Linklater, 2004 (speech pedagogue, UK), Martha Coigney, 2005 (Honorary President of the World Organization of the International Theater Institute), Henrik Yurkovsky, 2007 (Honorary President of UNIMA), Ronald Harwood, 2007 (playwright & screenwriter, UK), David Lynch, 2007 (film director, USA), Tadashi Suzuki, 2009 (theater director, Japan), Edward Albee, 2009 (playwright, USA), István Szabó, 2012 (film director, Hungary), Carlos Saura, 2013 (film director, Spain), Jirí  Menzel, 2014 (film director, Czech Republic), Claudia Cardinale, 2016 (film actress, Italy), Heiner Goebbels, 2018 (composer and director, Germany), Goran Stefanovski, 2018 (playwright, North Macedonia), Jan Englert, 2019 (actor and theater educator, Poland), Patrice Pavis, 2019 (theater researcher, France) and others.


Heiner Goebbels



Claudia Cardinale



Jirí  Menzel



Cicely Berry